911 Service Restored in Eight Counties

Click for Latest Disaster Information

911 service is operational in eight counties after an interruption in commercial telephone service this morning.  County emergency managers in Clarendon, Fairfield, Georgetown, Horry, Laurens, Lee, McCormick and Williamsburg Counties report any one with an emergency can call 911. During the outage, all counties immediately switched to their secondary systems for emergency calls. 

The South Carolina Emergency Management Division recommends that every family emergency plan include a back-up means of emergency communications such as NOAA weather radio and locating the nearest public safety office to go for assistance.  Information on developing emergency plans is available on our website at scemd.org or via social media @SCEMD